Medical Leadership

  • Stephen Symes, MD

    Stephen Symes, MD

    Medical Director

    Dr. Symes is appointed Associate Dean for Diversity and Inclusion with the Office of Diversity and Inclusion. Dr. Symes is an Associate Professor of Medicine – Division of Infectious Diseases with the University of Miami Miller School Of Medicine. Dr. Symes completed medical education at Howard University in 1989 and residency training in Internal Medicine at Jackson Memorial Medical Center in 1992. He served as Chief Medical Resident at the VA Medical Center in Miami, joined the faculty with the Department of Medicine in 1994, served as Associate Program Director of the Internal Medicine residency program in 1997, and was promoted to Program Director in June 2006.

    Dr. Symes has clinical activities on HIV and AIDS. As Program Director for the Jay Weiss Residency in Global Health and Social Medicine (10-05 to present), he developed a pathway to train future physician leaders in global/domestic health program administration and advocacy, preparing them to effect change in health/social policy. The four-year program pathway within the residency program leads to eligibility for certification by the American Board of Internal Medicine, and completion of a Master’s in Public Health.

  • Anjali Saxena, MD

    Resident Director

Current Staff

  • Abigail Woltering

    Programs Director
  • Serene Shehadeh

    Evaluations Director
  • Lien Morcate

    Scheduling Director
  • Manish Narasimman

    Follow-up Manager
  • Jason Codrington

    REDCap/Website Manager
  • Federico Erhart

    Translator Manager
  • Sanjana Satish

    Client Navigation Manager
  • Luis Gonzalez

    Client Navigator
  • Kiki Dowell

    Client Navigator
  • Alyssa Cruz

    Client Navigator
  • Gaurika Mester

    Client Navigation Database Coordinator
  • Brooke Oppenhuizen

    Physician Recruiter and Trainer
  • Sapna Kedia

    Training Curriculum Project Manager
  • Priyashma Joshi

    Peds Manager

Advisory Board

  • Wendy Liu

    4th Year M.D. Candidate
  • Luke Caddell

    4th Year M.D./M.P.H. Candidate
  • Faradia Pierre

    3rd Year M.D./M.P.H Candidate
  • Alejandro Hermida

    3rd Year M.D. Candidate
  • Waseem Nosair

    3rd Year M.D./M.P.H
  • Madeline Cohen

    2nd Year M.D. Candidate
  • Khushali Shah

    2nd Year M.D./M.P.H Candidate
  • Yaa Abu

    2nd Year M.D./Ph.D Candidate
  • Helen Bermudez

    2nd Year M.D. Candidate
  • Kareem Eid

    2nd Year M.D. Candidate
  • Mackenzie Jones

    2nd Year M.D./M.P.H Candidate
  • Alfredo Valdivia

    2nd Year M.D./M.P.H Candidate